Blog, Take two

October 11, 2007

View from my room at the Park Inn, Berlin

This was the view from my room at the Park Inn hotel in Berlin. No wonder I couldn’t sleep! I kept looking out over the box-like apartment buildings of East Berlin and wondering if people in the rotating restaurant at the top of the tower could see me. People and trams criss-crossed Alexanderplatz below, just like they did in the latest Bourne movie (which was great by the way).

I haven’t written for fun in about two years, since I started journalism school. I guess studying it has made me super critical of my own writing, and so I don’t do it as much anymore. I will have to get over that, especially now that I’m traveling and want to share my experiences with everyone back home. So, please have patience while I learn to write again.

For those of you who don’t know, I am living in Germany with the support of a Fulbright Journalism Grant. They’ve stationed me in Osnabrueck, in the northwest, where I will stay for the next few months and take classes. From there, I hope to move to a bigger city such as Hamburg, Berlin, Munich or Frankfurt. If anyone has any suggestions (for places to live or do a journalism-related internship), please let me know!

Leave a Reply

